UKWorkshop Woodworking Forums




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 20 Jan 2009, 19:57 
Offline
A Regular Member

Joined: 09 Oct 2008, 14:31
Posts: 1077
Location: Leeds
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times
Has anyone mounted or used a router on a R.A.S?

I know Dewalt do brackets for this. Does anyone else?

I have previously used the old fashioned overhead routers and know how useful they can be, I imagine having the ability for the router to move as per the RAS would be great for things like housing joints.


Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Digg
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 20 Jan 2009, 22:00 
Offline
Settling In

Joined: 03 Aug 2008, 17:24
Posts: 120
Location: North London
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Decades ago I bought the bracket to attach a router to a DeWalt radial arm saw. It was a pressed metal bracket that fixed to the motor spindle in place of the blade. The whole thing was ill thought out, with so much play as to be completely useless. So, unless a better bracket has been produced steer clear. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 20 Jan 2009, 22:11 
Offline
Settling In

Joined: 25 Apr 2008, 10:34
Posts: 74
Location: Devon
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
krismusic wrote:
Decades ago I bought the bracket to attach a router to a DeWalt radial arm saw. It was a pressed metal bracket that fixed to the motor spindle in place of the blade. The whole thing was ill thought out, with so much play as to be completely useless. So, unless a better bracket has been produced steer clear. :)


Still have one of these brackets kicking around somewhere

Chocolate teapot is all I can say ......


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 20 Jan 2009, 22:19 
Offline
A Regular Member

Joined: 09 Oct 2008, 14:31
Posts: 1077
Location: Leeds
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times
If a better bracket was fabricated surely it would be a great tool though?

Or would there be too much leverage/play in a mounted router?

I really like the idea and pricipal and for certain work it should be a great tool. I can also imagine how dangerous it could be under certain circumstances. Maybe i should leave well alone... :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21 Jan 2009, 18:23 
Offline
Forum Newbie

Joined: 21 Jan 2008, 00:02
Posts: 21
Location: Minnesota, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
I have an old Sears Craftsman RAS. You can remove the blade, tip the motor 90 deg, and mount a chuck on the motor shaft. You can use router and shaper bits. I have never used it that way though. You could most likely route at what ever angle you need.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21 Jan 2009, 18:29 
Offline
-------------

Joined: 03 Mar 2005, 13:15
Posts: 15589
Location: Creating and Fixing C*ckups Nr Dartford, Kent.
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
I guess it depends on how much play you already have in the RAS arm. If it's solid, then a well build bracket will also be solid. No bracket will take out slop in the arm.

I've never come across a home made Radial Arm Router. But I agree it sounds like good way to do 'dados', if you have the room for a RAS.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21 Jan 2009, 19:00 
Offline
A Regular Member

Joined: 09 Oct 2008, 14:31
Posts: 1077
Location: Leeds
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times
wizer wrote:
I guess it depends on how much play you already have in the RAS arm. If it's solid, then a well build bracket will also be solid. No bracket will take out slop in the arm.

I've never come across a home made Radial Arm Router. But I agree it sounds like good way to do 'dados', if you have the room for a RAS.


I have aquired a newish big dewalt, but i also have an old one which is what got me thinking...

Thanks for the replies guys. Denny, i don't think we do the sears brand over here, but that sounds great.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21 Jan 2009, 20:28 
Offline
A Regular Member

Joined: 30 Mar 2008, 00:28
Posts: 1071
Location: bedfordshire
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time
I have a jig which is basically two adjustable rails you can adjust to fit the width of the router plate, the rails are a couple of inches high and I have used this with the router as wel as a circ saw.
It is designed for a circ saw to enable its use as a ras. I think they are still available on ebay, I willl look for it. It lets me perform simple overhead routing tasks.
I have a B+D DN890, which is a good old saw, pre de walt, and I think very similar to the 1251. I would be very wary of using it as a router. In fact I am wary of using it to rip too.

The RAS is versatile, but it is a saw.

HTH

Neil

_________________
Go n-eírí an bóthar leat.

Neil


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21 Jan 2009, 22:32 
Offline
A Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: 02 Nov 2008, 15:08
Posts: 1482
Location: Romford Essex UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times
I made a bracket for my RAS years ago for the first router I ever had.
I'll dig it out tomorrow and take a couple pics.
Watch this space :whistle: :whistle: :whistle: :whistle: :whistle: :whistle:

_________________
GOGITS
(grumpy old git in the shed)

Life's too short to remain unnoticed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2009, 00:36 
Offline
Settled in Member

Joined: 29 Apr 2008, 18:15
Posts: 965
Location: Illinois USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
A Company we have over here called Sears & Robuck sells power tools...One being a RAS ,one side of the motor has the blade the other side has a covered bolt that will accept a router nut (guide ) you just screw it onto the bolt like you install it on the end of the router shaft.....

_________________
Makin Sawdust


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2009, 08:27 
Offline
A Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: 18 Jun 2006, 19:12
Posts: 1364
Location: Chichester, West Sussex
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 12 times
Grinding One wrote:
A Company we have over here called Sears & Robuck sells power tools...One being a RAS ,one side of the motor has the blade the other side has a covered bolt that will accept a router nut (guide ) you just screw it onto the bolt like you install it on the end of the router shaft.....


Is this like the Dewalt 1251 I've got. At the other end of the motor is a screw thread to which you can attach ... attachments - sanding disk, sanding drum, drill chuck (thos are what I'm aware of). The limitation with this for routing is that it's only relatively low rotation speed, about 2800rpm I think. Router bits need to spin much faster.

My RAS came with a small router bracket. To use it you remove the saw blade and blade guard and mount the router bracket where the saw guard fitted. The RAS is then only used to support and guide the router with the router motor doing all the cutting.

It's one of the options I've meant to try but never got round to it - my old Bosch POF500A router will fit it fine but so far I've always alternative ways to route what I need.

Misterfish


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2009, 13:00 
Offline
Settled in Member

Joined: 01 Mar 2005, 21:19
Posts: 870
Location: Edinburgh
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Going Off Topic a bit, my brother some years back got hold of a large overhead router that had originally been made during the 2nd war to make parts for the Mosquito aircraft. This used a three phase induction motor that was powered from an ac-ac frequency convertor such that it ran at 400Hz.

He never got it going and sadly I think he dumped it.

OW


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2009, 13:42 
Offline
A Regular Member

Joined: 09 Oct 2008, 14:31
Posts: 1077
Location: Leeds
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times
I know some of the dewalt ones have spindle moulder attachments which are very dangerous from what i've seen. And as Mr Fish has said the spindle speed would be to slow for attaching a router cutter directly. The bobbin sander sounds useful though. My idea was to remove the saw blade altogether and just use the radial arm feature with the router held securely in a cradle.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2009, 18:47 
Offline
A Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: 02 Nov 2008, 15:08
Posts: 1482
Location: Romford Essex UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times
This is my Shopmate RAS (American made) and the first router I owned was this Stanley 265 and I wanted to mount it on the RAS.
This is the bracket I fabricated to do just that.
Sadly the bearings are going on the Stanley, tsk, tsk, after 19 years, things just don't last anymore :roll::roll:


Image

Shaped block of hardwood to fit the Router, jubille clips cut and screwed to the block.

Image


Front view



Image

Rear view, some drilling & filing a little bit of welding ~

Image

Open.

Image

Mounted on the blade guard.

Image

Mounted with the Router, steady as a rock. :tool: :tool:


John

_________________
GOGITS
(grumpy old git in the shed)

Life's too short to remain unnoticed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2009, 21:20 
Offline
Regular Contributor
User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2007, 19:45
Posts: 1734
Location: Staffordshire
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 15 times
I use a copy router at work, and I'm pretty sure thats what you guys are sort of looking for. Do a search on google for "copy router" and see what comes up :wink: The one we have at work cost in between £5,000-£10,000 But I'm sure theres cheaper ones out there. The one we have got now was an upgrade from a much cheaper second hand one we brought.

_________________
Measure twice, cut once!
http://www.JoinerSim.vze.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
 Similar topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
Re-mounting roughed bowls

in Wood Turning - Lathes

bogmonster

13

780

07 Nov 2013, 15:44

Advice Mounting a Power Feed

in General Woodworking

deema

6

286

15 Oct 2014, 18:02

Bench mounting an Axminster AT1628 or AT1416

in Wood Turning - Lathes

Sheptonphil

5

635

31 Dec 2013, 10:56

Other uses for a Radial Arm Saw ?

in General Woodworking

Grahamshed

15

518

17 Mar 2014, 10:05

radial bowls

in Projects, workshop tours and past mistakes

frosties

2

430

06 Dec 2013, 17:01


Register UKW

User Tools






UKW Local

Quickly find the nearest tool suppliers & timber merchants in your area





Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
UKW Terms & Privacy

phpBB SEO