Infill Mitre Plane Project

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rxh

Established Member
Reaction score
Some readers may remember my Infill Smoothing Plane Project and Small Router Plane Project from last year. Well, I haven’t been entirely idle this year but my work is taking me away from home quite a bit and I haven’t been able to do as much woodwork and metalwork as I would have liked. However, I have made small router planes No.s 3 & 4 and I have been collaborating with another UKW member on an interesting project, of which more will be revealed in due course. Also, I have made a start on this mitre plane. It is based on a design of Jim Kingshott but I have made the following modifications:
- my own variant of Norris type adjuster, using a pivot tube,
- addition of adjustable mouth,
- “rxh” style front handle.
This is my first attempt at a dovetailed plane with brass sides and steel sole and I am enjoying the challenge.

Attachments

• IMG_2046C.jpg
    IMG_2046C.jpg
    206 KB · Views: 2,906
  • IMG_2044C.jpg
    IMG_2044C.jpg
    246.1 KB · Views: 2,906
  • IMG_2042C.jpg
    IMG_2042C.jpg
    248.9 KB · Views: 2,906
  • 2014-05-26 20.36.22C.jpg
    2014-05-26 20.36.22C.jpg
    213.7 KB · Views: 2,907
  • IMG_2015C.jpg
    IMG_2015C.jpg
    214.2 KB · Views: 2,906
  • IMG_2014C.jpg
    IMG_2014C.jpg
    202.6 KB · Views: 2,906
  • IMG_2013C.jpg
    IMG_2013C.jpg
    220.4 KB · Views: 2,907
  • IMG_1903C.jpg
    IMG_1903C.jpg
    248.8 KB · Views: 2,907
  • IMG_1899C.jpg
    IMG_1899C.jpg
    249.6 KB · Views: 2,909
  • IMG_2041D.jpg
    IMG_2041D.jpg
    247.4 KB · Views: 2,909
Beautiful. Absolutely love it. I can't wait to see the finished article and will continue to follow this thread with great intrest. Mitre planes are a passion of mine ;)

Thanks for sharing Rxh. And your secret collaboration had me itching....
Cheers
TT