How do we get kids to be engineers

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bracspin

Established Member
Reaction score
As a retired professional engineer I love the ability to now work with wood and am grateful for the many posts in this forum that have helped me develop my skills. I do however wonder how we get young people interested in becoming engineers. Once I descibe myself as a Chartered engineer I am often labelled as an academic with no pracrtical skills which is of course far from reality as it is engineers who keep our manufacturing industry running. It is very sad that we lost the route of people being able to do apprenticerships and go through HNC & HND to gain Charter status with a high level of practical skills. Let us encourage our children, especially girls, into the wonderful world of engineering where you learn the theory and how to apply it. Do you have the same problem, or are your children put off because of bad labelling?

In the days of the old Habsburg Empire when someone was presented to the monarch, they would say "this is so and so the general or physician
or barrister...". When someone had no standing in society, they would say he was an engineer.
The more things change...

Take away their X-Box & iPhones and make Lego & Meccano compulsory for both genders.

We're breeding a nation of people whose thumbs are evolving whilst their brains are devolving.

I took a BTEC National Diploma in engineering when I was 17/18 at a local college. I left with good results, but sadly the experience sapped all enthusiasm to pursue​ the subject further.

The course was a shambles and most of the lecturers frankly didn't give a cowpat (one would often not turn up for lecturers because he preferred to go surfing) so I remember feeling disillusioned within the first few weeks.