Any ideas what finish this is?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bawdseymatt

Established Member
Reaction score
Sorry if the subject has been done to death but I'm relatively new to proper finishing.

It's lousy photo but I came across this last night and I'm wondering if people can give me pointers what the finish might be?
The finish is on plywood, very smooth, fairly hard and pretty water resistant.

Any clues appreciated - pretty clueless on this one.

Thanks
Matt

Attachments

• IMG_3311_edit.jpg
    IMG_3311_edit.jpg
    214.6 KB · Views: 904
What is the piece in question?

If its a piece of modern furniture then it is probably a sprayed coating, maybe 2 pack of some type like acid catalysed or PU.

If its a piece of plywood, it could be a clear phenolic film -although the picture looks more like stined ply with a coating

It was the top to a bar that was touring with an outdoor show, so not a fine piece of furniture but had been made to look a lot better than it was.

I was thinking stained but have absolutely no idea what the coating was.
Although I'm going to have to look up 'acid catalysed or PU' ??

Thanks

bawdseymatt":3fwfxun9 said:
It was the top to a bar...
It's impossible to reliably tell one finish from another from photos, or by naked-eye examination for that matter. Mostly when a finish is correctly identified it's from contextual clues, not the look of the finish itself (oddly it's mostly degraded finishes that you can get a reliable ID on!) so this would be entirely guesswork if you hadn't provided this detail. It's still guesswork, but it limits the number of possibilities :)

Because this is a bar top it could be a pour-on finish, often sold specifically as 'bartop finish'. If it were that though I'd expect it to be a smidge better than "pretty water resistant" since as a rule they're completely waterproof.