Advice on tools to buy

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mutley Racers

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all. I hope you're well.

I am new to the site so forgive me for any mistakes I make.

I am after some advice on tools to buy. I am a Plumber who is getting into wood working as a hobby and and occasionally at work (installing kitchens etc). My wood working tools at the moment consist of a dewalt 1/2 router, scheppach plunge saw and an evolution mitre saw. Oh, and a dewalt cordless jog saw. Apart from my dewalt gear I want to upgrade. My main types of work will be built in cabinets for my home, cutting studding and ply sheets at work. Idally I would like a good mitre saw and table saw, possibly one unit? A router table, plunge saw and decent planer. So any advice is most welcome.

Regards Lee

For what you describe I would suggest a track Saw will be better than a table Saw for handling sheeting unless your looking for a large panel Saw. If your pockets are deep, Mafell, Festool and Metabo will ensure you have top quality equipment. My personal preference for tools are Mafell, Metabo and Fein, but that's just me!

I've had a 10" sliding Evolution mitre saw for about 5 years, and once it's set up and checked with a small accurate square it will perform as good as a mitre saw three times the price (although dust extraction is poor).
So I've never seen the point in upgrading.
Festool Track Saw does what it says on the tin, and accessories are widely available.
I would also recommend that if you don't want or need the MFT to seriously consider a parallel guide system (commercially available or DIY version).
This will make repeatable cuts accurate and fast.
Also a Festool Domino, Biscuit Jointer or Dowelling machine are a worthwhile consideration for building cabinets etc.